Southern Waters Adventure Series

– Book One –


Endangered Species

An Alex Nolen Adventure


Excellent Book

I really enjoyed the characters and the adventure. A little mystery, action, and romance.

Amazon Reviewer

Held my interest from start to finish!

I enjoyed the author’s character development. It is evident that he has a passion for the Florida Panhandle and marine life. The plot was refreshing. No gratuitous profanity. Nice short chapters kept me engaged.

Amazon Reviewer

So good!

I really liked this book. The characters were well developed, the writing was good, and the story was interesting and exciting.

Amazon Reviewer

The illegal animal trade can be a lucrative business, attracting all sorts of unscrupulous people. Capturing rare animals for monetary gain is an unconscionable act, resulting in appalling ecological losses. Sometimes, it can even lead to human tragedy.

When a team of underwater videographers charter Alex Nolen’s yacht, the SeaStar, to film a documentary about alligator gars, their journey takes them from the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Florida’s long and winding Escambia River. The area, often referred to as the Emerald Coast, is a showcase of natural wonder, offering the research expedition an ideal location for their documentary. A chance encounter with poachers, however, changes everything.

Alex Nolen’s peaceful, nomadic life is about to come crashing down around him. The poachers, driven by greed in their hunt for an exceedingly rare turtle, will let nothing stand in their way. This includes Alex, his friends, and the beautiful marine researcher he has just met.

Poachers, however, may not be the only danger. Something lurks beneath the murky waters of the river that could pose an even greater threat. Could this be Alex Nolen’s last dive?









Endangered Species

Book One in the Southern Waters Adventure Series

The story includes romance, danger, a unique...... review gif


The Southern Waters Adventure Series

Featuring Alex Nolen and friends!


Sunshine and saltwater combine to create the setting for adventure in the Southern Waters Adventure Series. Join Alex Nolen and his friends in their adventures above and below the beautiful waters of the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean.

How can a good-natured, easy-going charter boat captain and divemaster, who wants nothing more out of life than to explore and enjoy the underwater world, find himself running into so much trouble? Probably because Alex just can’t walk away from someone who needs help, no matter whether it’s his friends, a total stranger, or an animal in distress. Alex Nolen always does what he believes to be the right thing, even if that means putting himself in danger as well.

Each book in the Southern Waters Adventure Series is a fun adventure/suspense novel that all readers in the family can enjoy. They may be read either in order of publication date or as stand-alone novels. The first two books in the series are now available for purchase on Amazon in eBook and paperback format. Both are free to read for members of Kindle Unlimited.




Newsletter Signup

Join the Southern Waters Community!

Click below to sign up for the Southern Waters Community Newsletter. It’s the best way to stay informed of new releases and other relevant information. Subscribers receive the FREE Southern Waters prequel short story eBook, “Anniversary Blues,” featuring Rex and Rose Fisher.


FREE Short Story eBook!

Click below to subscribe.

Southern Waters Newsletter






Cover designs by Jennifer Schafer

Copyright © 2023 Nate Littlefield and Southern Waters Publishing